Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

At THIS time of year??

I was fully aware of the concept of Autumn fruiting Rasps, which fruited after the rest had more or less gone into hibernation. But, come on! Isn't this stretching it a wee bit?
Bought a half dozen canes earlier in the year and ''stuck em in'' they are now taller than me (Not a difficult task) and you can see the state they're in.
With typical skill and efficiency I've forgotten whether they were bought as Autumn fruiters or not.
They further complicated the issue, earlier in the year, by throwing side shoots off the short, old, canes and fruiting, Typical behaviour for summer fruiters.
I proceeded to ignore them, apart from picking the odd fruits ''as and when'' and literally, only today noticed the rest of them when I went out to feed the Red brigade. Which latter, nearly, became today's offering.
Time will tell if they've performed in time or late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.