Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Incredible Iris

I was sitting out and noticed a lone iris growing in my own back garden. "What?", I said. It is blooming again? Then I bent down to inspect it...I'm not sure I've ever been that close up and personal with an iris, but they are very very beautiful and interesting!! Such fun to photograph!!

On a historical note, my great-grandfather on my dad's maternal side was from Norway and he did reverse painted on glass....many many of his paintings were iris or roses. The interesting thing is that he painted with oils and attacked the pictures backwards...painting the closest parts first and building to the farthest points in the picture...so that when you turned the glass over, you saw the scene! That meant you didn't need protective glass...you had used the glass for your canvas!! His work was beautiful, and proudly hung in my home today!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reverse_glass_painting

http://www.blipfolio.com/musings?i=

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.