The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Frampton Marshes - October Origins

Back home in Wales.

I thought I would use my last Lincolnshire blip to tell you how I became a birder.

Back when I started dating Dawn, I knew I would have to eventually meet here parents. Believe it or not I had never done with with my ex wife, as both her parents had sadly passed on.

Luckily they seem to like me! :-)

So on the first visit to Lincolnshire Dawn said she would take me to see the famous Wash!

We actually went to Freiston not Frampton first. Dawns Dad lent me his dSLR. I took a few pictures of various wading birds. Whilst we were walking back to the car park a family of Canadian Geese came up from the scrape. It was from that moment I got hooked. We watched the parents keeping an eye on their chicks, it was brilliant.

I managed to get to Freiston. Friday, and we called in Frampton for an hour on the way home.

There was a birding club there who were really friendly, and they helped me and Dawn ID the various waders on the salt marsh.

It's been a great hobby to get into, and the new scope has been a brilliant addition to my birding paraphernalia. Picked up a few more year ticks, taking my year list up to 125 birds observed this year. Quite chuffed with that as a novice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.