New Day. New Picture

By PeteW

Stairs

I seem to have a bad habit of going places a little too late to really do them justice.
I can't recommend trying to "do" the Deutsches Technische Museum in an hour. A fantastic science museum that a day wouldn't scratch the surface.
Then there was the 10 minutes to see the newly re-furbished Scottish national Museum. Again... fail.

So today, ended up at Tantallon Castle. I visited Tantallon many years back and have been meaning to return. It's a great castle, although by no means complete, which takes one back to their childhood. Fantastic place to expolre the dungeons and ramparts. It's one of these castles where you are never sure what you'll find round the corner. And it has a fantastic location perched on the side of a cliff overlooking the sea.
So let's be honest, a 15 minute whistle stop tour before it closed just couldn't do it justice. On this occasion, I can't be blamed for the tardiness. My fellow explorer, and she knows who she is, was a "little" later than planned.
Anyway, Tantallon was built in 16 hundred and mumble, was beseiged sometime after that in the the 17th/18th or possibly 19th century!!! You can see I took it all in in those 15 minutes can't you!

Perhaps I should re-visit and get a decent photo or 2 and take in some of it's history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.