Double L

By Wyldkatt

That's a surprise

I decided to try something very new today. Half an hour before this picture was taken the leeks that are in this pan were in the ground. Yes - they are leeks not really large spring onions.

I needed a way to get my son out of the back of the car (he is curently watching Bagpuss ( - dear Bagpuss. Old fat furry cat puss. Wake up and look at this thing that I bring. Wake up, be bright, be golden and light. Bagpuss, oh hear what I sing!) Yes - I know the words). Telling him that I am headed down the garden to collect leeks actually gets him running from the car so he can pull them up instead of me. What can I say - he's two and a half - any reverse psychology still works.

The leeks I had grown were not large, but they are tasty. I thought I would try a different way of cooking them. So in a pan went the washed, trimmed leeks. A knob of butter. A splash of extra virgin olive oil. Some garlic. Some water. Some tomatoes of varied types (also grown in our garden) and slowly simmered until all the veg / fruit was soft; adding more water as it evaporated away when needed.

Then after then veg / fuit was put on the plate I thickened the 'sauce' with a little corn flour (really I don't know a better way of doing this).

Served with buttered spaghetti and some seeded, breaded cod. The leeks and the tomatoes were lovely, really rich in taste and the sauce....it was like yellow ketchup.

So - a surprise.

Not a surprise I can cook (everyone who knows me is sure that I can) - but that my idea that leeks can be cooked this way was right and without the aid of the internet or a cooking book.

Moral of the story.....experiment with food :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.