ffoto

By emmagenevieve

Candle Lamp, October Origins

Backblipping this today (Monday) as part of PontyCyclops's October Origins challenge. Since I've been under the weather thought it was a good opportunity to take part.

This candle lamp was a present from my aunt Maxine when I was in my early teens. It reminds me of going to stay with her in her house in Northampton with my brother Tom when we were little. It was such a treat; we could stay up late and play games and explore her cellar, which was very exciting for children! In the evenings we would collect all the candles together and light them all at once, creating a magnificent heat and light. I have lots of great memories of staying with Maxine, including our very first trip to London, where we rode in a black cab, saw Big Ben and Trafalgar Square.

Candles also remind me of Christmas, in particular our yearly carol 'concert' (I use the term advisedly) when we light candles around the Christmas tree and sing our favourite carols and pop songs. It's a family tradition that has been running for years now and I love it.

I still love candles now and light them when I need to relax; this is a shot of the lamp on the edge of my bath last night.

Hopefully more October Origins posts to come over the next few weeks - see PontyCyclops's blog for details of how to take part.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.