Captivating

By katish

Tears in Heaven

Rough day...I found out that my grandmother passed away this morning. She had Alzheimer's and we knew it was coming, but it's hard all the same. It's painful to lose someone you love, and it's even worse to be far away from your family in times like these. I hate that I can't be there for my dad :'( but I'm thankful that he was able to get down there and say goodbye before she passed.

My memories of her are mostly from my childhood...we took summer trips down to Alabama to visit all of my dad's family. She lived way out in the sticks...like as far out into the country as you can go. She had cows, and lots of cats, and a garden that she loved tending. She had a heart of gold, always giving to people. The few times that I spent with her by myself she was always buying me little things. But actually what I remember most is a simple engraving that she gave me. It's just a square of wood that says "When you have nothing left but God, then for the first time you become aware that God is enough." And that sums up her life to me. She lived very simply and she really didn't have much, but she was thankful and she was generous. Heaven's got a great new addition--one fierce lady with a wonderful sense of humor, that makes amazing biscuits and gravy :) Best in the world. I'll miss you, Mama.

"Beyond the door, there's peace I'm sure
And I know there'll be no more
Tears in heaven.
"

-Eric Clapton-Tears in Heaven

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.