Blipaholic Deb

By BlipaholicDeb

Changing Seasons

I really have lost my blip mojo at the moment. Too many things going on.

Thank you all for your kind words yesterday, my worry is small compared to the suffering of those who are personally affected, it's only natural to question your own mortality when something like this happens so very close to your home. I know people who knew the poor woman who lost her life.

More details have emerged overnight and it appears that the woman currently charged is a schizophrenic who was convicted of her own mother's murder in 2006, her sentence; 'to be detained indefinitely'. Apparently that means less than 5 years. It is also being reported that she tried to get herself sectioned on Sunday, only to be turned away.

This should not have happened. This woman obviously needed help. Now another innocent person has now lost her life and someone IS to blame.

How many more members of our community are out there struggling with mental health, how many more times will this happen? I cross every bone in my body and hope that it never does.

The borough in which I live is not a bad one, it's not a struggling inner city dive. Yet 3 times this year, we've had events like this blight us. My neighbour, the garden which backs onto mine, was murdered and then put in the boot of his car and left in Blackheath ablaze and a 16yr old boy was stabbed to death on his way home from school at 5.30pm in a crowded street in Welling.

What is wrong with us? Why can't we be more tolerant? Why can't we care more? do more? I don't have the answers but I know that change is needed :(


My thoughts today are for the family and friends of Sally Hodkin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.