Northern Exposure

By Northern

HUBshot

Had to pop out at lunchtime and as it was such a glorious day I went by bike.

Once I'd done what I needed to do I popped into the Hope to grab a piece and headed for the beach at Eastside on South Ronaldsay. There was a family playing on the beach, paddling, sunbathing, building sandcastles and everywhere farmers busy harvesting crops... had I slipped though time back to Summer?

Ate my piece sitting on a kelp dyke and then amused myself by running around and throwing my bike in the air. I also managed to slip on a cow pat and nearly knock myself out. That's two hubshots and two near fatal incidents. Dangerous business.

Took me ages to get back as everyone I passed wanted to stop and chat. This sunshine does weird things to folk.



The standing stone is the Millenium stone - it's thought to be an old standing stone which lay in a ditch for many years when 3 local men decided to carve it with pictish and viking symbols, handprints, a cross and an M to celebrate the year 2000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.