Will you still need me, will you still feed me ...

Happy Birthday to me!

Last night's party-goers were very kind and very good and handed over presents and cards once The Beatles left the stage after their midnight rendition of When I'm 64. (I don't know shy it should be, but almost all the presents involved alcohol of one form or another -- and mostly of the bubbly variety.)

The Monaco Grand prix was on today, and we kept up the tradition of having a GP lunch with friends in Ballsbridge (we go to them for this race each year since one of them actually got to experience the race over there on a junket courtesy of one of the cigarette manufacturers -- Lucky Strike, actually, who were keen on getting their brand into the pub Frank was running at the time.) We had a great time, made all the better by the fact that it rained in Monte Carlo and added great excitement to the race. There was mixed reaction to Lewis Hamilton's win (we are split almost equally between those who can't stand the guy and those who consider him a motor-racing genius).

The end of the day is a bit of a blur. We left some time around 8.00 pm I think. I also think I fell asleep during whatever was on offer in Carl's Kino.

p.s. I almost forgot to say anything about the blip itself, which had nothing at all to do with the events of the day except that it was taken while waiting for the DART to bring us over to Ballsbridge. Once again I'd forgotten to bring a spare battery pack with me, the low-battery warning was flashing, I took this shot for no particular reason other than rather liking the body language of these two ont he opposite platform. (The sign behind them says in Irish 'Stay behind the yellow line. Danger. Fast trains may pass by.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.