My Angle

By myangle

The Flip Flop Clad Welder

I have a pretty good idea why my recent welds have been crap. My mate at work reminded me that welding rods can be seriously affected by humidity. And it has been humid and stormy lately.

I will put them in the oven for a few hours tomorrow and see if I get a better result.

Tonight I went out to the shed just to kill some time and to let my dinner go down. My welding is still shithouse!

We had a massive rainstorm move through Brisbane this afternoon. I rode the bike home is belting rain, wearing my new wet weather gear. I have to admit, I was pretty much dry when I got home with the exception of my older boots which filled right up. It was one of the worst rainstorms I have ever ridden in. torrential. I don't mind riding in the rain though. In fact I quite like the challenge. Not that it's a race mind you. I just ride within the limits of the bike, myself and the surrounding traffic. The traffic is the biggest frustration though. Brisbane drivers are not good wet weather commuters, probably because they spend most of their time on the road in dry conditions.

Anyway, there were lots of massive puddles and some that could be called "water over road". I was glad to get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.