Well Loved Pooh Bear

I have been struggling lately in my newborn sessions to get the lighting, focus, and depth of field right. There were so many variables that I could never figure out just what was causing the problem. This has left me feeling frustrated and a bit down. Today I decided to do a studio test and I realized that my Pooh Bear is just about the size and shape of a newborn baby! Plus he doesn't move, cry, or poop. I spent the morning photographing him and the things I think I discovered are: I can no longer hand hold at nearly the shutter speeds that I used to, there's a very small latitude of f-stop and shutter speed combos that will seem to work with the newborn babies, thus requiring my light bounced off the ceiling. On the one hand, it takes away some of the creativity. But if it results in more in focus sharp useable images I am all for it. I also bit the bullet and decided to upgrade my camera. In an odd move, I had to downgrade in order to upgrade. I bought the D7000 (a consumer model) that should, in most ways that matter for my work, kick the ass of my old D300. Also related to this blip, this Pooh Bear is one of my most beloved creatures (it felt weird to type objects, or possesions). I have had him for at least about 15 years and I actually sleep with him every night. He is the perfect size to tuck into my elbow or use as a little pillow and I am strangely comforted by him. So, this blip can definitely be counted among my series of sentimental items.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.