Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Cloudy, dark and stormy

This afternoon H and I had a wonderful time at the Lyric Opera, a positively stunning new production of Donizetti's Lucia de Lammermoor! What made this tale from the moors of northern Scotland so alive for me for the first time was the blips I have looked at this last year on blipfoto!!! Another lovely perk, I can't name you blippers here on the iPhone but I hope if you see this you accept my thanks. The story is dark and stormy with Lucia and her famous mad scene more dramatic than I've ever seen. We had one small trip up memory lane by climbing to the very top balcony where we both saw our first opera ever and fell in love with this multi-art. Today we got to sit lower!!
The Chicago weather when we got out of the opera was also dark and stormy and we were soaked through by the time we hit our hotel, even with our rain coats and umbrella.
Ok , the photo! It's Anish Kapoor's Cloudgate sculpture in Millennium Park, on Michigan ave. where we walked all over this am. It's a self portrait of H and I reflected. If you are interested, google Cloudgate, Chicago- it's a great piece! Happy to have the speck of orange umbrella from that gal who was having fun with her big camera ( and probably waiting for us to get out of the way!)
And tonite- crabcakes and key lime pie at Shaw's Crabhouse... What a wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.