Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

...now, where was I?

If you saw my blip yesterday you'll recall that I was distracted from my original intention of getting a shot of Tracey Emin's installation 'For You' (2008) in Liverpool's Anglican Cathedral.

Today I vowed to be a bit more disciplined - and I succeeded!

It's a funny old world in which the one time enfant terrible of Brit Art is now considered enough of a national treasure to be commissioned to produce work for a cathedral (although whether her, now sadly destroyed, piece 'Everyone I Have Ever Slept With 1963 - 1995' would have been quite so welcome we'll never know).

Emin says of the piece "I wanted to make something for Liverpool Cathedral about love and the sharing of love. Love is a feeling which we internalise; a feeling very hard to explain. I thought it would be nice for people to sit in the Cathedral and have a moment to contemplate the feelings of love, it's something we just don't have enough time to think about and I hope this work creates this space in time."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.