Wisdom Begins In Wonder

By bobzilla

Not all ales are created equal...

I've been drinking Fraoch for the last 16 years. There is a pub in Strathaven called The Weavers and we would go there every so often as my friend knew the owner. One evening he came over and said that he had a few beers in from this guy knew and would we like to try them. We spent the rest of the evening drinking Fraoch and Green Grozet from a keg.

When I first had it the only place I knew that sold bottles of it was The Green Wellie Stop in Tyndrum. Basically a place that sells all the tourist tat for those on their bus trip back down from Glen Coe. We used to take runs up there from Glasgow outwith our normal camping trips to stock up.

Then one day we found it after a trip to St Andrews resulted in us buying some beers there on a sunny Sunday evening. The next week we found it in the supermarket we worked in. Life has been good ever since.

I have to say I've never found it available in a pub on draught ever since those first few nights at the pub. As is usually the case it tasted even better that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.