The Enigma Returns!

Best viewed large - oh yes!

ELGAR!.....

Already by the time the church bell struck midday, I was already in Little Larry's bad books... as King Charles had come to see me before Lil'Larry had arrived... He wasn't happy, even though Charlie got the message & left to sleep in the sun, one small red breasted bird had a real go at me!

A look of disdain!

I'M TOP BIRD!

I'm simply not talking to you!

*Cringes* sorry Lil' Larry... I can't chase Charles away.... I love you both... I'll come find you later.... Promise!

Later on...

A hell of a racket going on in the front garden, Lil'Larry pic pic picking at something or other... can't be Charles, he's in the back garden... what?

I sat on the bench & within seconds a blackbird came & sat next to me - ELGAR!!!! Oh WOW!

You look so fine!

Did you enjoy your time away?

Welcome home!!!

I started to coo coo at him... I started to chant his name & throw him worms, then I looked round & Larry was FURIOUS! JEALOUS! He was LIVID! His whole body language changed... he was angry enough with Charlie, but this was bad... this was SO BAD!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

I'M TOP BIRD - YOU BELONG TO ME!

(Believe me, he was silently screaming at me - can you see it?)

I hate that bird

And I can't believe you're paying him all that attention & not to me!!!

Oh Lil' one I love you... I love you.... please.... don't be like that!

I'm plotting my revenge on you, that BIRD & that CAT!

(Look at the sharpness of that beak... *scared*)

Oh Little Larry, my heart belongs to you, really, you're my favourite.... please!!!!

NOT listening

And then he flew up into the branches & was gone :(

While Elgar...

Looked all sweet & innocent, like butter couldn't melt...

Over the course of the afternoon, I kept calling Larry... but there was no sign. He had even stopped singing. I was getting desperate. No sign. No sweet robin dancing through the branches to meet me. Nothing.... oh no, what have I done???

But then... as the sun was sinking, I frantically called his name, louder then I have ever done before.... LARRY LARRY LARRY!!!!!

And he came.... He sat on his usual branch above me, his head feathers raised, he looked piercingly into my eyes & began to sing, first it was muffled, then it got louder & louder, until he was in full voice... every note crystal clear... I just sat there gobsmacked... He sang his heart out at me, never leaving my eyes... & then he came down & had a worm, having said (sung) his piece...

He relaxed & forgave me too

Then after a small high pitched 'teeeeeeeee' he was gone... hopefully robins forget! Hopefully tomorrow, he'll love me again.... but now Elgar is back... this might happen again. Help! lol

Thanks for all the lovely comments etc from yesterday's Bee is for Borage! I hope everyone has a great weekend :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.