Like father, like son!

Or like father, like swan?

Today I went for a walk by the river, I have never seen the swans this far upstream. Mum, dad and three cygnets. The young are now as large as their parents, but still sporting their grey plumage.

When I moved to this small rural community, it took a fair while to be accepted by the locals.
After six months I met the estate's game keeper one morning, when I was out walking.
"Hello, you do know I'm your new neighbour." I said
"Yes."
There's nowhere to take the conversation after such a response!
A year on the ice started to melt when I told him:
"Just so you know, I've got a cat."
"I hate cats."
"This one is special, he's only got three legs."

Next time I saw him he stopped and said: "Your cat can't 'alf run fast."
"How do you know?" I asked.
"When I chase him in the Land Rover he fair sprints. He gets all over the place, you know."
"If he gets in with my pheasant poults I'll bloody shoot him."

There are no boundaries between our gardens and the surrounding woodland. The game keeper wanders through my garden, as, and when he pleases, so one summer's day when I was doing a spot of weeding, and he sauntered by I asked:
"Would you like a cup of tea?"
"Wouldn't say no."

He then took to calling round for a cuppa on quite a regular basis.

"If you ever need anything, let me know, he said with far too much of a glint in his eye."
My heart sank. Oh no! "I was only being neighbourly." I explained.


About six months later the gamekeeper's son wandered into the garden and peered through the kitchen window.
"Hi, how are you? Want a cuppa?"

He came in and told me he had split up with his wife and was living back at home again. We talked about the split.
"She thought I was seeing another woman, but I was just doing some building work for her, nothing happened."
" Trouble is I've lost my job too, because I was working for my ex's father."
"Oh you poor thing. You can call in for a chat if you're feeling down." I said.

"If there's anything I can do for you...," He said.
"Thanks, but I don''t think I've got any jobs at the moment."
"No, I meant, If you need anything....."

My heart sank, Oh no! " I was only being neighbourly.... " my voice trailed away.


I had to smile at the thought of father and son turning up at the same time......

I guess I should feel flattered that they were both willing to offer their services to a sihgle lady.

Now, a while on, with metaphorical boundaries established, if I ever need help, they are the first people I ask.

Last summer there was such an occasion, and it is then that you know who your real friends are.
But that surreal incident can wait until tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.