CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

ANNIVERSARIES

Please forgive a bit of self-indulgence today. 29 years ago in
Guildford Registry Office at 3pm I married C. It was a glorious golden
October Friday because industrial action by civil servants meant that
the registrars weren't working at weekends. We took a day off work. My
mum and dad came, three of my sisters with their children, my
godmother who stood as 'best person' for C, and IAA who took the
photos. Meles had urgent family business so couldn't be there. C's
parents wouldn't come, and we didn't tell anyone else because if word
had got back to his ex she would almost certainly have disrupted the
proceedings in some way. We spent the weekend in romantic High Wycombe
and went back to work on Monday. Had C still been here, the
anniversary would have been severely marred for him by the Wales-
France result.
Also, five years ago today (I remember because it coincides with
the other anniversary) my team got knocked out of the University
Challenge semi-finals. Damn you, Manchester!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.