Brown's Clix

By tonybrown

Hymenocallis

I'm really pleased today. I got one of these to grow in my garden about 5 years ago and have been trying to do it again ever since. I'd more or less given up on them, and then this afternoon I suddenly spotted this one happily flowering away near the back of a border.

I was told that their common name is the Peruvian Daffodil, although they seem to be called by a few different ones (Spider Flower, Basket Lily among others) in the US. They are frost tender, so bulbs have to be planted quite deep. The problem arises in early spring when they start shooting below ground. If anyone is overly ambitious with a hoe, the shoot can be chopped off and the growth stops.

So you never know whether it's over zealousness, frost or a mouse that's stopped things from happening.

I must have planted this bulb last year, and somehow it's managed to survive my ministrations to weeds and last winter's harsh conditions and hung in there!

The previous one I grew was complety white, but this one has a delicate pink tinge to it.

I've backblipped a picture of my daughter's dog "Merlin" from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.