A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

More Discoveries

Free wifi, yaay!

Another visit to the Discovery only this time we actually went on board. The rigging looks so complicated! The restoration work that has been done is beautiful. All this beautiful wood and metalwork did not come cheaply though. Apparently Discovery cost £51, 000 to build which I think was equivalent to 4 or 5 million nowadays!

I bought a book on Tom Crean, the sailor who accompanied Scott and Shackleton on expeditions and have read about a third of it already, a post dedicated to Crean will almost certainly make an appearance when I have finished indulging my love of polar exploration a bit more with both this and my anniversary present of the diaries of Frank Hurley.

Personally I find defrosting the freezers at work pretty uncomfortable...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.