Foto Journey

By chriscb

View from a hill

This is the view from Portsdown Hill looking over Portsmouth towards the Isle of Wight. It's a bit blurry but the sun was down and it was getting dark. I had taken some other clearer photos today, but I wanted to post this one as I sat up here with my children eating fish and chips (actually scampi for son, veggie options for daughter and me), after a stressful afternoon.

Yesterday my mother-in-law was moved to the Rowan's Hospice after 5 weeks in QA hospital. This afternoon I took my daughter to see her grandmother and then we went back later with my son. Rowan's is a wonderful place and provides fantastic care. However, it was still a difficult afternoon and early evening with the children there and their grandmother drifting in and out of sleep and fading away. We left their mother keeping a vigil at their grandmother's bedside and decided to get fish and chips and eat them up here before going home. Somehow it put the visit behind us as we looked out across the harbour picking out places we know, watching the odd firework going off, eating our food and chatting away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.