surely you can see

By petergarver

edit to add: Probably best if you don't read anything below here...boring, spoiled, consumerist, and not worth your time, but it's how I felt today. I think mostly it's just that using my old camera makes me think about the stolen one, but whatev. I'll get over it.

Losing my camera has affected me more than I had thought. Not because I lost a camera, or because it was expensive, but because now I don't have a camera that I like. My old camera is of course capable of taking very nice pictures, but it's a bear to use and lacks some features that I really got used to. I could just buy a new body from the people who made all of my lenses, but I don't like what they've got out now. I don't really feel like switching to another system, especially with nothing particularly inspiring out there (the Canon 40D is pretty nice, but where are the decent lenses for small-sensor cameras?) The only camera I've seen at all that excites me is the 5D, which I touched yesterday, and wow, is it exciting. The 5D, of course, is about 33 months into a 36-month product cycle, is big and too good for me, and costs about twice as much as a good small-sensor body. Do I want to do that? Not sure.

It's all a very bourgeois problem to complain about, but it's been bugging me, and I really wish someone had waited to steal my camera until I had time to consider what I might want to get to replace it. That's life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.