Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Love and attitude

I taught at Smith College, an institution for some brilliant young women who want it all and have the inner resources to go for it: career, love, family, a way to build the world they want to live in, the world they want their children to live in. The cost is exhaustion. This fine young woman has a very high-powered full-time scientific job; she teaches online courses; she's a breath-taking visual artist (oils); she waited till she was 38 42 [edit: she corrected me] to have a baby; and she comes home each day, spends quality time with her daughter and partner, then deals with her online students till she falls asleep on the couch. I am loving the time we have together, and I feel the exhaustion in her steps, in her shoulders. I admire her, love her dearly as if she were my own, am fiercely proud of her, and wish I could make it easier for her. I can't. All I can do is admire and love her. And I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.