Today's Special

By Connections

Experimental Morning

Today I awoke to the first fog of the autumn, and thought "Blip!" I had forgotten how hard it is to take interesting photos in fog.

My first shots were of the same salvia flower and stem you see here, but taken almost two hours earlier. The light was flat, and so were the water-beaded fine threads of spider web on those photos.

I then tried taking photos of the barberry bush across the street, which must have been party central for all the spiders in the neighborhood last night -- I've never seen so many spider webs on one bush. Shooting was complicated by the random winds that dart through our area, but here's one to give you an idea of what it was like.

When the sun came out and the fog started lifting, I went back to the salvia stem and tried again, with the result above. Look at it in large to see the delicate details (guess it's time to get my tripod out...).

(I spent time on photography this afternoon, too -- going through my photos from our vacation last month, still to be back-blipped. My goal is to have that completed before the end of the month -- stay tuned!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.