With One Eye Wide Open

By CB

Stepping back into reality

I never thought it was ever possible that I would actually feel joy to be back at work. Yup, first day back at work after two weeks of sitting on my lovely but getting fat bum. Four feet, a limp and a searing leg pain that comes and goes did not stop me from enjoying my first day back in the real world. The two weeks of just having my feet up was fantastic but cabin fever was starting to set in.

The lads at work were so lovely and prepared a French-Polynesian dish for my welcome back lunch. The dish consisted of grilled chicken fillet topped with a mixture of thickened cream, avocado, soy sauce, fish sauce and something else I can't seem to remember. Yea, that cream combination sounds off but hard as it is to believe, it was actually nice! I'm not a potato person but the boiled potatoes they prepared mixed with butter , garlic and sour cream was heavenly.

So all in all, it has been a very nice day indeed except for the leg of course. I fear that it's going to be a loooong night. Thank goodness for pain killers!

I have to be creative about my photo subjects until I can actually start lugging my camera around again. This image makes me think of what Chris Orwig said in his book Visual Poetry that "The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.