Buck me!

So there I was, dog at my side, watching the sun rise through the mist and thinking about my knobkerrie.

Suddenly........ The dog pulled on the lead and I turned to see this handsome buck staring right at us.
I took this shot one handed with the dog straining at the leash, trying to chase the quarry, so it's a flipping miracle there was even anything in the shot.

For the interested amongst you, this is a Fallow Buck.
I do see occasional small groups of Does, but rarely see bucks in the area.

It is the rutting season right now so that might explain why he was watching me - and I didn't even have my lippy on!

He trotted off across the field and through the hedge within a couple of seconds.
What a magnificent beast.

I had to blip him as it's the first wildlife shot I've ever taken - apart from a pheasant and that doesn't count - they're wandering about everywhere waiting fot Mellors to feed them.

Knobkerrie tomorrow, Jane!


Unless something better turns up.


Post Script:
I've just met Mellors who told me where his rutting stand is - the Fallow Buck's, not Mellors' so I may become a stalker.

Post Post Script.
I must apologise for the lack of comments over the weekend, It would have been quicker to hand write and personally deliver postcards, than use the internet. Today has been equally tricky, but I'll do my best to view your journals when I can. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.