October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Art by the footpath

The sun was shining this cold Sunday. This is what we call "window-weather" in Iceland and I went for a walk. It is an hour walk from my home to the end of the peninsula and back. This took me one and a half hour and there are many wonderful sights on that footpath. I have already walked by a fountain and here is the first statue called "Shadows" (1998), artist Steinunn Þórarinsdóttir.
It is made out of aluminium, both figures from the same mold. They lean towards each other without touching and looking in opposite directions. The relationship is superficial because they do not connect. The work is a reflection of man's need to seek support from another human being but at the same time emphasize the fact that man is always alone and so on... like I on this walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.