phseven

By phseven

Little Girl and Her Mother


These two caught my attention. I was on a spontaneous wander around the city and called in to visit the 'nifty fifty' I haven't yet acquired. Still not sure I wouldn't be better off with its 35mm brother. Any thoughts?

Inspired by the idea of new glass I decided to push myself to take some photos I normally avoid. People, candidly or otherwise, haven't before by in my blips.

It was the mother's red dress which caught my eye but the daughter's grip on her soft toy which kept it. Shot from the hip, or at least from the end of a dangling arm which is how I usually carry my camera, on a burst of four shots.

This is my first blip of a portrait but also the most processed shot I've blipped. I applied all the usual tinkerings but the mother's crimson dress remained too distracting so I went to SliverFX for the black and white treament, twiddled, then put back in the girl in colour and finally used ColourFX on a silver reflector effect to reduce shadows on her face.

I'm surprised how much I like to final product as I'm generally 'get the shot in the moment' rather than mess about on the computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.