It wisny me!

By Itwisnyme

Giant Scottish Thistle(baby)

This is a leaf of the only one of 14 seeds planted that came up.

I already have a fully grown Giant Scottish Thistle in my garden (ONOPORDUM ACANTHIUM) which sadly is now about to die. I will need to blip it before it keels over. Sadly it was past its prime before I took to blipping.

They take 2 years to mature and then produce stunning flowers, produce seeds and die.

They are giant scottish thistles because they achieve great size, for a weed.
The one in my garden is about 7 1/2 feet tall.

I am waiting to collect more seeds from the one in the garden.

The one baby that I have will need to go out into the garden soon as they need to be exposed to the cold weather.

Its a slow process but very rewarding.

The thistle in the garden was named "martin" by my son, for no particular reason. But the name stuck.
We have therefore reasoned that the baby plant, on the window ledge in the dining room is therefore a "House martin" and as such is now called "Fat boy slim"
Hopefully when Fat boy slim comes to maturity I will still be blipping and will be proud to include him in my collection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.