Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

The Son Also Photographs

I'm feeling a bit mixed up at the moment.

First, the happy: this photo. I had to take my wee lad on the train this morning. At one point he wanted to use my camera, and he took this photo of me (among many of my knee, and one of the woman sitting across the aisle). I thought it was a nice photo, and a nice representation of how he is interested in cameras and photos - which is nice for me.

Second, the Occupy Wall Street stuff. This is bringing right into consciousness the things I've been thinking and saying for a long time, including that the Earth's resources are not finite, and our current model of never-ending growth is not just inequitable and exploitative, but unsustainable, and will destroy us. Unless it changes. I hope that this doesn't fizzle out, or get hijacked.

Third, Yueyue. I don't understand. I cannot wrap my head around how these people made the active choice to disregard the basic human impulse to help an injured toddler. I hope they live long lives alone with their guilt and shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.