Axe Wound

Oops!

Jo!

Jo! .... I cut myself with the axe!

The story goes like this. Jo bought me a beautiful steak for dinner. I lit the stove and decided to multi-task by chopping some wood at the same time. Well the axe got stuck and in my efforts to lever it out I braced my hand on the log. The axe suddenly came loose and my wrist was right in the firing line. There was lots of blood so I knew it was pretty serious. I called to Jo from the back door and 10 minutes later Jo had applied a pressure bandage and we were on our way to the hospital.

As luck would have it I didn't cut through any arteries, nerves or tendons and I also managed to miss any bone. I did slice a minor vein which the doctor stitched up with the inch long wound. I did shame myself by nearly fainting when the doctor put some local in.

It's now 9.55pm and I am back at home, none the worse for wear except for 5 or 6 stitches. I can't fault the health system here. The doctors and staff at the hospital were great and had me sorted in next to no time. I might be a little bit more careful next time I use the axe though. The doctor told me that anything worse and I would have been up for a minimum of 2 years physio. Instead all I will have is a scar.

And bragging rights when it comes to axe related injuries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.