lhr

By lhr

Shaping Our Future

What a day!

It all started when I had to go to the Post Office Depot at 6.30 this morning before work to pick up a parcel which wasn't delivered yesterday. Once collected, I drove back home and got ready for work. Today was no ordinary day at work. Like 10,000 of my colleagues, I had to attend a day session called "Shaping our future" which challenged us to look at service we delivery to our customers. People came from all over, people even flew in from Canada!

Having not been in the company long, I feel I didn't have much to contribute to my "pod" of 12. The rest were all boasting about their length of service. One woman even said "I've been working here for 38 years, I bet you've not worked here that long". Damn right I've not, I'm only 22! Silly woman, but now I'm starting to doubt how old I must look?! Maybe it was the whole getting up early thing. Anyway, the session itself was good, I was open to all the ideas that were discussed unlike the others and I actually quite enjoyed my day. That could possibly be because of all the free stuff. Joking aside, the food available was incredible. Innocent smoothies, fresh juice, coke, water, coffee, tea...the works! Oh this doesn't even include all the food. This is the first corporate event I have been to so I was easily impressed. I think I won't be getting a bonus next year after the amount of smoothies I drank - oops! Even lunch was amazing, but I thoroughly enjoyed the drinks reception after the event. My boss introduced my colleagues (my bank of desks all attended the session today - that is 6 of us) and I to some big names which was good. The free flowing wine was even better.

And the free flowing wine is what has caused this rubbish blip. Nevermind, I enjoyed myself!

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.