Today's Special

By Connections

Nearly Local Lunch

Today is the same sunny autumn weather as yesterday, and although I am feeling a bit better, I'm still not my usual self.

Knowing that I'd have more energy in the middle of the day than in the evening, I decided that lunch would be our main meal today, and opened the refrigerator to see what the possibilities were. The result was this pasta dish made from the last of the cherry tomato confit I made last year (frozen until a couple of days ago), and local fresh pasta, green beans, bell pepper, and shallot. The last half of a seeded demi-baguette from Breadfarm, buttered and heated in the oven, provided a crunchy accent.

("Nearly Local" is because the pancetta and olive oil were from Italy, although purchased locally from Old World Deli and the Community Food Co-op, respectively, and the organic butter on the bread was from Costco.)

Time for a nap now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.