Instant Lake

Many times during the night I was aware of rain lashing the house. It made me feel so cosy under my down duvet. The wind and rain continued non-stop into the afternoon. Our rain is usually fine and misty, but this was real rain. Water was gathering in any dip in the ground. My front lawn is low-lying I've discovered.

When the rain stopped I went off to the little creek that I blipped yesterday to see how much it was flooded. It was a raging torrent of muddy water 40 or 50 metres wide. I couldn't recognise the place I took yesterday's photo because the whole foreground was under water.

This lake is in the adjacent field. It is reflecting the sky to give that silvery appearance. The water was actually very muddy. Here is the same scene in summer, from a slightly different angle.

As you can see there is fresh snow down to the tops of the foothills, but only the lower parts of the mountains were visible.

Floods are always worse in other nearby places than they are here. I don't yet know how bad it was elsewhere.

My eyes are much better today. Thank you for all your good wishes and advice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.