Cryptic...

This week is turning out to be so busy - today I seem to have been ferrying people to and fro - though it did mean the dogs got two walks! The weather felt almost wintry - much colder than of late - but this seems to suit the dogs and gave them far more energy. I just wish it worked the same way on me!

Despite getting out and about I never seemed to be able to find the right shot. The best views and skies always seemed to happen when I was driving and didn't have time or the opportunity to stop. So I've opted for an interestingly camouflaged beetle that Pete bought back from Bainton Pits.

This is a Greater Thorn-tipped Longhorn Beetle Pogonocherus hispidulus. I prefer the scientific name to the common one, mostly because, as far as I can work out, it roughly translates as bristly bearded-hand. It's a fairly local species, more frequent in southern Britain, whose larvae live in dead twigs. I was struck by just how good its camouflage is. The colouring and pattern are supposed to resemble a bird dropping, but here it blends in very well with the old tree trunk it's sitting on.

Thanks to everyone who's dropped by my journal on recent days. Many of you were correct in guessing that my mystery bird was a kingfisher - I did actually capture the whole bird but it was very small and had it's back to me! I saw another one today on a different part of the river, but much too far away to photograph.

I'm sorry that my commenting's a bit sporadic at the moment, but at some point I hope to catch up a bit! Famous last words.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.