Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

Anticipation

So, days, weeks, maybe years in planning, location spotting, trawling books. Weather conditions, seasonal conditions, angle of sun at sunrise. Then the practicalities, what time do I need to be there, do I make the long trek from home, do I camp? And it all comes down to this. Waiting. And worrying. Nothing you can do about that cloud on the eastern horizon - the one that has appeared so recently, just as the sun is about to peep beyond the rim of hills. Oh well. Another time then. But at this moment, anything might happen; nothing is decided. As I waited this morning I pondered the thought that most people have not seen the sun rise from high on a mountain; have never witnessed the grass aflame at their feet whilst all around them the peaks glow pink, with the clouds suddenly orange and alive in their textures. Well, if you have not, join me for a moment, in the cold light of pre dawn. Scan the horizon with me, watch the pink glow creeping above the horizon, and wait with me for what might happen next, in anticipation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.