Red Squirrel

By JJRW

October Origins: Thanks Grandad!

My grandad - on mum's side - was horse mad (his Romani blood probably being responsible for that!). Being born and bred in London never really gave him the chance to ride, except when he served in the Household Cavalry as a groom. But I suspect that he was determined to ensure that his passion was passed down - to me. This apparently was the first time I sat on a horse, and it was his idea. My almost lifelong passion for horses was instilled, though at least, unlike grandad, I got to ride constantly from an early age (with a short break from about 14 - 22 when other things occupied my interest!). Eventually in 1990 I finally had horses of my own, and still have my 25 year old 'big boy' (here, back-blipped on April 6th) who I brought as a 4 year old and schooled on myself.
I think my grandad would be well pleased. His plan worked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.