Blips by g

By BlipsByG

Some sums

Today I did some sums. That, for me, is quite a feat.

I don't do sums. I tried on the way home. But I got a bit lost, so I decided to write it down when I got back. Do it properly.

A bit stupid obsessive, but heyho.

I bought my bike as a trial. I used to cycle a lot. Race sometimes... Not on a racing bike, mind. A proper man's bike. A mountain bike. But I haven't cycled for years. (I gave my gorgeous Klein to my brother about ten years ago.)

But my new job spurned me into action. So, I looked for a cheapy on Gumtree. And found one. A bargain at £75, if i don't say so myself.

Anyway, I digress.

My bike cost me £75. How long until not getting the bus pays for that, I wondered on the way home.

Here are my workings:

4 weeks at new job - ok, 22 days.
Bus would have cost £2.60 a day (£1.30 each way).
22x£2.60 = £57.20

So, £75 - £57.20 = £17.80... Which, divided by £2.60 means that I have 7 days to cycle to work (both ways) before I've paid for my bike...

While I was at it I got my trusty Edinburgh cycle path map out. It's about 5 miles to work, I figured out (with the help of a piece of string). That's 10 miles a day. Which is 50 a week... And 220 miles over the 22 days.

Which also means my bike is currently paying for itself at 26p a mile...

Some times I amaze exhaust myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.