What did I see today...?

By DaveR

The lighter side of things...

So my little sister phoned me up with bad news this afternoon, hence I'm currently a bit drunk while writing and in the middle of 'Big Fish', a film guaranteed to get me weeping. Turns out our family cat, Jaffa, who lives back in Oxfordshire with Mum & Dad, is pretty ill and isn't going to last much longer.

This probably isn't a big deal to many unless you already know about Jaffa, but to sum it up she's been our cat since 1990. She's older than half of my cousins and since Day 1 with us has been an evil, vicious, cantankerous bitch from hell - and I love her to pieces and back. She's also a transcontinental cat, she spent three years out in the USA when we lived there in the mid-90s.

Tonight's Blip was going to be a shot of furry little bastard because I couldn't be bothered to do anything else. Then I spotted the shirt that I was going to wear today, but managed to lose in plain sight, hanging on my wardrobe. It's from 'The boy with tape on his face', probably the best act I saw at the Fringe this year, and I've now got this clip from the show playing to keep me happy and on the lighter side of things.

No doubt by the time the film ends I'll be in tears again, particularly listening to the end credits (courtesy of Pearl Jam), but I know Jaffa's had a good life and for now I'm happy to remember that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.