Jess & Molly Law

By jml

SP is not easy

I do not usually wear a bow tie, but I decided that today (365th Blip) counts among "High Days & Holidays". I had hoped to be able to get a self-portrait including Jess & Molly. Little did I realise how difficult self-portraiture is at any time. When you are trying to round up our two puppies as well, it becomes well-nigh impossible!!

I started with Mrs jml's camera, which has a front screen especially for SPs. Jess showed no signs of interest, so I started to practice with Molly. Several shots did include us both, but my face was constantly screwed up with the efforts to juggle Molly and the camera. The best of these shots is bottom left in the montage above.

Molly, as you would expect, was always wanting to be the centre of attention. I got a couple of good portraits of Molly which on any other day might have been the Blip. But without Jess & myself, they did not count for what I had in mind. The best of these is top-right.

It was becoming clear that there would be no way I could manage all the variables with a camera held at arm's length. So I reverted to my own camera and the trusted timer. I took a few ranging shots of the bench in front of our bay window. This was where I hoped that I would be able to get both Jess & Molly to pose with me. Once again, Molly was in the thick of the action. She seemed to object if I was taking a photo of nothing at all! Even if I was not holding out treats, she would still come up to the camera and insist on being in shot. Jess hung back, suspicious of everything that was happening. This part of the morning can be seen top centre.

Eventually I was able to get something close to what I was after. Molly learned not to lick the camera and to pose for her treat. Jess, as usual, looked disdainful. Top left.

All this time, Mrs jml was laughing to herself. She could see that the best option was for a 'normal' group portrait. Finally, that is what we did - bottom right.

All in all, good fun was had by everyone. I got (after a fashion) my birthday Blip, while Jess & Molly got more treats than they usually get in a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.