Mumblings

By Juno

My Grandad - My hero

Today's blip was unplanned, but it just happened. I took a quick picture of my Grandad without him noticing.

My grandad was my late mums step dad so we are not related by blood, but I wish we were. He's 95 years old and has had a hell of a life.

You see he's Polish and had not been long in National Service in Poland when Hitler invaded. During this time most of his family disappeared at the hands of the German Army, all his Brothers, Parents and friends. Only his sister in law survived the war.

He himself was captured and sent to a Russian Labour camp where many other inmates simply froze to death, eventually, along with 3 others they killed a German Guard and hid his body in a mattress, they used his keys to escape and got to freedom by many means, 1 of which he tells me was hanging under a train.

My Grandad now lives alone following the death of my Gran two Christmases ago. He still feeds the local ducks everyday.

My amazing Grandad, my quiet Hero.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.