booshaka!

By rah

Farewell Ron

What an odd day I've had today! Last session of footsteps today, which Annie screamed her way through, then home, quick change to go & help serve at my friend Trevor's dad's funeral wake, served tea, coffee, wine, food & CAKE to many hundreds of mourners, it really was a great send off for a great man who dominated British speedway from late 50s to the mid 60s. His family did really well.

And now I am sat in my pjs resting my weary legs, oh & FYI, I had TWO tiny pieces of cake- I had to stand next to the cake table ALL afternoon- most cruel I thought!!!

Oh & the engine in the pic was parked outside the church during the service, the engines feature in previous blips as they come through the village once a year to a steam rally up the road & each year they stop for lunch at what used to be Ron's pub (Trevor took the pub on a few years ago), it was lovely to see the engine there & I particularly like the corsage on the front, what a lovely & fitting tribute!


oooh ETA- just looking at the previous steam blips & realised that i have blipped this engine before! how funny that out of the many engines that come through our little village that i would blip the same engine twice!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.