point and press

By crispinhj

shelves to move

These shelves started life in my workshop - sized to store tins and jars and boxes of screws

They were made as an exercise in making joints with tapered sliding dovetails joining the shelves to the uprights, so the whole thing came to pieces and was only held together by the fit of the joints. I cut mine by hand in lunch hours when I was still teaching in East London

Then I decided to put them in the kitchen at the last but two house so I added a bit of moulding and gave them a lick of paint

Ever since then they've held yet another random selection of things I've accumulated.

Over the weekend we're going to take them down and fit them in an alcove in the front room and that will enable us to put up Ant's granny's dresser which fits almost exactly. You can see the top of the mirrored back at the bottom

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.