Japanese Adventure

By PhilJ

I love it

You either love Marmite or hate it. I LOVE IT

So it was important that I bought some with me from the UK. In the rush to pack, the Marmite was left out of the suitcase. So I dropped it into the hand luggage and we then left for the airport.

At Heathrow went through the normal routine to make sure the Other Half has put all her makeup into a clear bag to go through security. When my bag goes through, lights flash and bells ring. They put it through again and the same thing and this time they spend alot of time looking at the screen. Cannot see any reason for the alarm, so start to unpack the bag.

Take my Kindle out and still alarms, so everything is taken out. Then I see one of the security staff pick something up and look at it. Then the penny drops, it is the Marmite, it is a liquid.........

Everything from the bag is put onto a tray and put through the Xray again and not alarm. A security lady walks towards me with the Marmite in her hand. Before she could say anything, I say how sorry I was and that I had forgotten about the Marmite being a liquid. I add that a couple of months away is along time without the Marmite. She then tells me I am lucky, as she loves Marmite as well. Turns out I was lucky on two counts, not only is it a liquid, it was over the 100g limit.

She then help me pack my bag and made sure the Marmite was in a safe place and would not get broken. It was my lucky day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.