hello again

By admirer

VAILLANTS PLEIN

is a rotunda around a tiled water basin. In the basin many sea-gulls have a safe heaven, a bit swimming, much washing to do, looking at each other, but not to much of that, sunbathing and what is surprising no shouting. Very calm they are, very "haags" I would say.
In the morning Piet Hein and I we had a cold walk along the beach, the sky totally blue and it stayed like that the whole day.
But I had to go to the Megastores to exchange a wrong size of something and I took this as an opportunity to discover a bit of The Hague on bike. Through the Zuiderpark I went with all the old trees, and the deer-park, along the canals with many house-boats in it. And endless streets busy with persons going to buy the necessities or just be outside.

My haiku:

The paper thin wings
Of my capped soul roam, whirl
and descent softly

And the proverb:

Hard must she wink that shuts her eyes from heaven.

Of course in this case where I say she and her you can read he and his.
I try to fathom the meaning and think what if I would find it, would it fit me.
I remember a illustrated little book in my youth with proverbs and only one of it I see clearly for me is : Al draagt een aap een gouden ring, hij is en blijft een lelijk ding.
Even when a monkey wears a ring of gold, he is and stays a plain thing.
The illustration an enormous ring on the not too good looking monkey.
An obvious meaning?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.