The Poss

By PossMan

Murder Weapon?

I'd given up all hope of blipping today. But when I was doing the tea Mrs P announced she was going to get tomorrow's leg of lamb from the garage freezer. I thought of the story and was going to blip her as she came in with it. Then decided I'd better not as I'm not her favourite person today (last night I referred to her pet brother as "The Fat Controller"). So just got the leg when she wasn't looking. And the story? I think it's a Raold Dahl story about a woman whose husband comes home and annoys her with some trifling thing. So she wallops him with a frozen leg of lamb that she just happens to have handy. Later the police are called because ruffians have, according to the wife, broken in and attacked her now dead husband. The police are suspicious but can find no trace of a murder weapon although a lovely smell of roast meat is oozing out of the oven. After they've gone and she's got away with it she can sit down to a lovely roast lamb meal.

If in the next couple of days the news has a story about an OAP in Inverness being found battered to death with an unidentified weapon and a bit of frostbite you will know the truth.

PS. Not sure I know how to spell RD's name although I really enjoyed his tales. And I'm not really sure it's one of his as the BBC did a series of tales in a similar vein but not actually written by him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.