THE LIGHT IN THE DARKNESS

By Adventuregirl

The calm after a storm...

Sometimes things come into our life like a big lightening or rain storm. We never know exactly when it will start, or when it will end..but we await the moment that the rain stops...the sun begins to shine and the magic of the rainbow appear. The last year of my life has been like a rainstorm..my husbnad was recentlly diagnosed with bipolar disorder, he was hospitalized twice, once on his own request...and once I had to involuntarily comitt him.
It was heart breaking..I went from being happily married of almost 10 years with three young children, to not knowing what the next day will hold for our family. It has almost been exactly 1 year, with much growth, learning new roles to try to provide a stable home for my children..the rain has stopped.
I am working on getting through the trauma and changes this disease created in our family. Along the way I was faced with my own quest for the meaning of life, joy and suffering. I found myself compelled to go on a two week trip to Africa. I did not find the answers that I was looking for..but return with knowledge and love that has enriched my life.
I learnt that I was stronger than I ever imagined. I also learnt that I had amazing power within me to show others the light within their struggles at their darkest times. I found how to harness the healing energy that my mother and grandmothers had taught me...and now... I am ready to share my journey with you.
I am a registered social worker...professional counsellor...and working towards becoming a registered massage therapist. My very essence is of love and peace...and I was created to bring healing to others. One must know pain..embrace it..and heal themself before they can help others.
I am learning to connect the old world knowledge that has been forgotten, with the new science and wisdom...hopefully to about the necessary growth and change that we are all longing for. Learn how to connect the mind, body, and spirit to be the best you there is.. remeber there is only one of you..and you wouldn't want the world to miss out on the opportunity to meet the real "You".
Join me on my journey..and I will show you how to dream with your eyes open...feel like you are flying while your feet are firmly planted on the ground and especially to see the rainbows..after the rain. This picture was taken today and it inspired me to start this journey of writing. Love and Light Allison

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.