Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Tate

Just got back from London - 45 mins for a Blip!

Decided to do something I would not normally do and took myself off to the Tate Modern this morning as Mrs Hollow took the girls to Westminster Abbey before meeting up with her friend.

I am not a big art fan, but there is some stuff that appeals to me, but I do also get into that annoyingly clichéd rant of "IS THIS REALLY ART? I COULD HAVE DONE THAT!" when I see certain types of modern art.

So the Tate Modern was a mixed bag really:

The WeiWei sunflower seeds did in fact make me reflect on the modern concept of 'Made in China' as I thought about all the poor buggers who hand-crafted each porcelain seed.

I got a real buzz of seeing The Snail as I walked into one of the galleries. I have used it in art lessons at school and had no idea it was here (told you I wasn't an art fan!) and had no idea it was so big! Thought it was only a small piece for some reason - an assumption I guess. Loved it.

I also got a very big buzz when I saw the Lichtenstein - my favourite piece of artwork. Again though, I had no idea it was there...such a heathen!

Then came a few of my clichéd reactions. None more so than as a reaction to what I have put in the centre of this montage. A mirror. Not even a fancy mirror. A mirror. The write up is a joke, a pretentious load of crap. Sorry if this offends anyone who is 'in the know', but please...seriously! Who the hell decided that deserved wall space? It's not me who has crossed the line, they have. I think I made an audible sound when I read that - not good as I was alone :-/ I took a picture of the masterpiece - looks like an unimpressed, slightly overweight football supporter out his depth if you ask me.

After the Tate I wandered over to the protesters at St Pauls. Had a chat with one of them and wasn't too sure what they were hoping to achieve. Good thing to protest about - but no real aim?!?

Oh, and then a football match before the long drive home. Nuff said :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.