In The Occupied Territory

By FinHall

When I was a young boy

Many, many years ago, back in the fifties and early sixties, when I was but a boy, I was in the cub scouts. I was a pretty poor cub, going through the whole 5/6 years or whatever, without as much as gaining a badge. The one badge I did try for was cycling proficiency, and I failed that. This, genuinely wasn't my fault, as in the highway code questions, put to me by a policeman, I failed to get the answer to ONE question. All the rest I breezed through. This one related to a signal given by a policeman on traffic control duty, and the signal did not exist. Even my Akela and my mum and dad did not know the answer, neither was it in the Highway Code Book. So it is not new having corrupt coppers.
Anyway this is my actual cub cap that I have still got in my possession now. It is still in remarkable condition, and still has my name tag inside.
After my time was up, due to age, with the cubs, I went up to the scouts. But only lasted one night, my decision, as I decided I did not wish to pursue the interest further.
But in later life I was a scout group treasurer, and my son was a scout, and then a leader, my wife was a scout leader and my daughter was a venture scout.
On the same theme. a couple of things, very recently the chief scout of Britain got married, he tied the knot with his wife during the summer. Also, next year, the scouts are re-introducing Bob-A-Job week, after a hiatus of many years. This time instead of knocking on stranger's doors and seeing if they are needing their paths swept, or whatever, it will be seeing what they can do within their local community.
Good idea methinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.