Rodents rule

By squirk

A day at the seaside

I love old seaside towns, especially off-season. I got up only to see F and his bike disappearing out the door to make the most of the weather. It was lovely and sunny so Whisky and I sat in the garden watching the guinea-pig trio mow the lawn. Whisky was then tortured by no less than six rat-a-tatting wrens, which jumped from one low branch to another, just out of swiping distance from the poor cat. I've only ever seen one wren in the garden before, so seeing six was a bit a boon! They sounded like a bunch of those rattles that are employed by fans at a football match, and they went on, and on, and on. Not just in my garden, but hopping into neighbouring trees. They looked like adults so perhaps it was a mating thing. I must look it up.

Later, F called to say that he's en route to Eastbourne via various cycle trails. I decided to go straight to the seaside - I hadn't been to Eastbourne for a very long time and I like a long train journey (so long as there are no engineering works, which there weren't, for once). Equipped with a take-out tea and Saturday paper, a notebook for thoughts, and a fine window seat, it took no time at all to reach Eastbourne. Then another take-out tea with a three-pack of custard creams (the drink would have been far too wet...) I sat myself down on the pebbled beach to await the cyclist. There were quite a few people out and about, mainly families, walking along the promenade or braving the sea. When F arrived, we found a fish-and-chip restaurant for the obligatory (and very nice) cod and chips. I even had jelly and ice cream, mainly because I was so excited to see it on the dessert menu.

A superb day! Another adventure awaits tomorrow.


contorted beach frolics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.